Go on, give us a song

04Aug11

Well, it’s all feeling very old-school. I concentrate on whatever it is I’m doing because I have no interweb. No bipping off to check Dublin weather/email/the films of Stephen Dillane, whom I love with a love that isn’t right. The one rub is coffee-shop music, to which I am exposed whenever I need to go online. Not all coffee-shop sounds stir up the tar-black sediments in every id, but Christ, the musical stylings they’ve selected at Insomnia in Rathmines are enough to send me on a rampage. It could have been my rage-delirium, but they seem to have arsed about with the mix, so that the voice overrides the instruments with a kind of hooky, irky stridency. And the shittiness of the lyrics! ‘I’ve never felt love like this before’, ‘I’ve got an angel in my pocket’, ‘You make me feel alive’. Really? Really? You make me WANT TO KILL. I’ve changed coffee shops – safer for everyone I think.

No Responses Yet to “Go on, give us a song”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

