Computerless et miserabilus

26Aug09

Oh oh oh! Dismay to the max! No Kom_Pu_Tah has left me bereft and – too horrid for a waiting world – silenced. Stop me if I’m moving too fast for you, but it was working and then, like, it wasn’t. Switched it on about 10 days ago, cool as a cucumber. Folders popped up as usual, all the doings laid out, present and correct. So I was all set for a bout of knuckle-cracking and some well crafted bons mots on subjects as multifarious as slug-pellet deployment and the Forest of Dean. Such riches! And all to be shared!

But then another window announced itself. Yes please, I clicked, I would be happy to take delivery of your update. How very kind of you to think of me. Restart? Why, yes, happy to oblige. But then disaster and pestilence fell across the land, in the form of an endlessly whirling whirly pole.

Loading loading loading.

So, after a bit of unsuccessful over-the-phonery (‘Take out the battery… Now put it back… What’s happening now?’) I have handed it over to The Chum Who Knows About These Things. He has tinkered, wiped, and for all I know changed the oil and topped up the antifreeze. The precious bundle has been handed back and now all I have to do is take it home and reinstall, erm, the stuff. I am not confident. Pray for me, children. Pray as hard as ever you can.

2 Responses to “Computerless et miserabilus”

  1. 1 sidwadell

    I sincerely hope you haven’t delivered it to anyone called Mikey ??

    • 2 vanessaharriss

      Ha! Not quite, but I ain’t putting too much faith in it all the same…


Leave a Reply

